Anna Peden and Eduardo Hinojos have been named the 2019 Region 19 Teachers of the Year.

Peden is a 5th-grade teacher at Desert Hills Elementary in the Clint district; while Hinojos teaches government and political science at Americas High in the Socorro district.

ESC Region 19, in conjunction with Teachers Federal Credit Union, named the winners during an awards ceremony at the Judson F. Williams Convention Center on Aug. 11. Peden and Hinojos were selected from a pool of 21 finalists who won the Teacher of the Year award in their respective school districts.

They will now go on to represent the El Paso region in the Texas Teacher of the Year competition in Austin.

Here are the 2019 Elementary School Teachers of the Year by school district in Region 19:

Anthony: Rosa Damian

Clint: Anna Peden

Canutillo: Monica Lane

El Paso: Juli Porflit

Fabens: Rebeca Marquez

Fort Hancock: Elena Rodriguez

San Elizario: Sandra Tinajero

Socorro: Tammy Edwards

Tornillo: Brenda Lopez

Ysleta: Carol Love

Dell City: Tesha Czubinski

Here are the 2019 Secondary School Teachers of the Year by school district in Region 19:

Anthony: Rene Hernandez

Clint: Jennifer Prieto

Canutillo: Holly Lopez

El Paso: Ricky Ramirez

Fabens: Blaine Jolley

Fort Hancock: Amber Moseley

San Elizario: Andrew Avila

Socorro: Eduardo J. Hinojos

Tornillo: Damaris Duran

Ysleta: Stephen Solis


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.